Technology Readiness Levels (TRLs)

Technology Readiness Levels (TRLs)


Technology Readiness Levels Definition

Technology Readiness Levels (TRL) are a type of measurement system used to assess the maturity level of a particular technology and are popular with NASA and the US Department of Defense, etc. Each technology project is evaluated against the parameters for each technology level and is then assigned a TRL rating based on the progress of the project.


Technology Readiness Level (TRL) Scale

There are nine technology readiness levels. TRL 1 is the lowest and TRL 9 is the highest.


The advantages of TRLs

  • Provide a common understanding of technology status,
  • Risk management,
  • Used to make decisions concerning technology funding, and
  • Used to make decisions concerning the transition of technology.


The nine hardware TRLs are defined as follows: NASA

  • TRL 1 : Basic principles observed and reported,

Scientific research is beginning and those results are being translated into future research and development. 

  • TRL 2 : Technology concept or application formulated,

It occurs once the basic principles have been studied and practical applications can be applied to those initial findings. TRL 2 technology is very speculative, as there is little to no experimental proof of concept for the technology.

  • TRL 3 : Experimental and analytical critical function and characteristic proof of concept,

When active research and design begin, a technology is elevated to TRL 3. Generally, both analytical and laboratory studies are required at this level to see if a   technology is viable and ready to proceed further through the development process. Often during TRL 3, a proof-of-concept model is constructed.

  • TRL 4 : Component or breadboard validation in a laboratory environment,

Once the proof-of-concept technology is ready, the technology advances to TRL 4. During TRL 4, multiple component pieces are tested with one another.

  • TRL 5 : Component or breadboard validation in a relevant environment,

TRL 5 is a continuation of TRL 4, however, a technology that is at 5 is identified as a breadboard technology and must undergo more rigorous testing than technology that is only at TRL 4. Simulations should be run in environments that are as close to reality as possible.

  • TRL 6 : System or subsystem model or prototype demonstrated in a relevant environment,

Once the testing of TRL 5 is complete, technology may advance to TRL 6. A TRL 6 technology has a fully functional prototype or representational model.

  • TRL 7 : System prototype demonstration in an operational environment,

TRL 7 technology requires that the working model or prototype be demonstrated in a space environment.

  • TRL 8 : Actual system completed and “flight qualified” through test and demonstration,

TRL 8 technology has been tested and "flight qualified" and it's ready for implementation into an already existing technology or technology system. 

  • TRL 9 : Actual system “flight-proven” through successful mission operations.

Once a technology has been "flight-proven" during a successful mission, it can be called TRL 9.



We offer different types of options, from business listings to events, classifieds, articles, banners, and much more... 

Don't forget to sign up online for free and create your Business Profile!

Sign up today - It's quick and simple! We offer different types of listings, from business listings to events, classified ads, and much more.

Browse Our Listings

Download our app to your mobile phone